The history of Camping De Roos goes back to 1909 ...............

 
In 2019, the Huttopia group bought Camping De Roos and will
continue the management and development of this unique setting as a nature campsite, following the footsteps of 3 generations of the De Roos family.


Jan George de Roos (1872) settled in Beerze in 1909 with his wife and daughter. He was a tram conductor in The Hague but, because of his asthma, his doctor advised him to find a healthier place to live and work. The forest air would do him good.

He chose Beerze because his brother-in-law was the headmaster of the primary school there. He bought some land, built a house and started a small farm and grocery. He also peddled his goods far and wide by horse and cart.

 

Jan’s son Bram was born in 1911 and a further three sisters followed. Because Baron van Pallandt, owner of many estates in Ommen, was friends with Baden Powell, a lot of Scouts used to come to Ommen in those years to set up their camps.

The beautiful spot along the tributary of the river Vecht beside the de Roos farm was also discovered, and any additional income they could generate at that time was welcomed. And so it was that the first Scout camps were held at De Roos in 1918.

Others, too, were drawn to the unique location and hospitality at a time when camping was still something unique and reserved for a select few.

At that time, the guests and their belongings were collected from the station by horse and carriage. In order to attract more people, two summerhouses were built to make a recreational stay in the forests of Beerze possible.

 

 

In the photo: Jan de Roos with his wife Carolien and their son Bram. 

 

Jan de Roos died in 1931 and a difficult period began.

The two oldest children had to help out to make a living.

Other opportunities were sought to provide additional income.

In 1933, a tearoom was built against the home and a swimming area was created in the tributary of the river Vecht, which was used extensively.

During the fifties, more and more people found their way to Beerze. The tearoom became a popular spot and camping was discovered as a way to enjoy an affordable holiday away from home. 

 

Bram de Roos married Bertie Lindenhovius in 1952 and together they expanded the pioneering company even further.

Over the years, the campsite became an increasingly important source of income. The farm became redundant and so the last cow was sold in 1965. Their son, Jan, was 10 years old then. Facilities such as water and electricity were added and two large toilet blocks were built in the early seventies.

Six summerhouses were also added over the years.

 

The campsite could be expanded because some farmers from Stegeren offered their land for sale to the de Roos family.

As a result of the normalisation of the river Vecht at the beginning of the 20th century, their land was suddenly on the other side of the river. They managed for quite a while with a boat and a ford, but this became impossible when the river Vecht was widened and deepened in the fifties. They could acquire land elsewhere through land re-allotment and Bram de Roos purchased the land, not knowing what to do with all the hectares.

At the time, he couldn’t have predicted that camping would really take off as much as it did. 

 

That happened in the late sixties, early seventies.

Holidays and holiday pay were regulated by CAO

(Collective Bargaining Agreements) and almost everyone could afford a camping holiday as a result. Several lovely summers did the rest. What was also important was that Bram de Roos had an eye for the unique natural value of the area.

He built up the campsite without impacting the environment too much. His son Jan was able to benefit from this when he took over the company in 1978. 

 

Together with his wife, Lucie, Jan increasingly promoted the company as a natural campsite. The tearoom, which had become the campsite canteen over the years, was converted back into a tearoom with the requisite atmosphere and even grew into a vegetarian restaurant, which was only used as such for a few years. The campsite shop gradually became a health food store, which fit in perfectly with the concept. It was a particularly special thing at that time to have a health food store on a campsite, and Camping De Roos is still the only campsite in the Netherlands with such a shop.

 

The formula was a hit. More and more people appreciate the real value of the beautiful nature and careful management.

Jan and Lucie have modernised the site over the years but have made sure that the original character has not been lost.

By properly aligning the various aspects

(nature, facilities, management and target group), this special character has only become stronger and has created the special, harmonious atmosphere that has come to characterise Camping De Roos. Sometimes it even seems like time has stood still there........